The Account of a Lifetime

November 7, 2009

Saturday Stuff

Filed under: A day in the life of...,Books & Media — xisor @ 3:27 pm

The Ninth Doctor and his companions

Not too much to report. Hopefully booking the NZ stuff today; need to Skype my mum this afternoon.

Spent most of this morning watching Doctor Who. First up was The Androids of Tara, and old Fourth Doctor story. Not fantastic and I think Tom Baker’s becoming my least favourite Doctor but enjoyable way to spend a morning! Later, I began watching the last three episodes of the new Series 2, first was ‘the one with the olympics’ which I generally dislike as an episode, but I absolutely love some of the little ‘bits’ in the episode. The Doctor’s reaction to the cat, his response of “I was a father once”, his “I say…well…I say” [actually, that’s the next ep], his eating the marmalade with his finger. All that; I just love it. Still, I don’t like the episode.

What I do like, though, is the absolutely stonking double-bill of ‘Daleks vs Cybermen’. Delightful. Terrible plotting and suffering from insane plot-holes and non-sequitars, but by jove I do enjoy it! “Location Earth, life forms detected. EXTERMINATE!”

But now

Well, I’m just watching the end of it. Doomsday, very poignant. Love the music. But I’ll be off out for a walk up to the Wallace Monument then round Stirling University for some of the afternoon too.

For now, I should update my books of 2009!

Updated Books of 2009

I’m also updating my ‘2009 books’ record a little. Here’s the current standing (plus a few ones I’d missed from before):

01. Betrayal by Aaron Allston
02. Wine of Dreams by Brian Craig
03. I am Legend by Richard Matheson
04. Nagash the Sorceror by Mike Lee
05. Malekith by Gav Thorpe
06. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (READING)
07. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (READING)
08. Bloodlines by Kathy Traviss
09. Cat Amongst the Pigeons by Agatha Christie (READING)
10. Outbound Flight by Timothy Zahn (READING)
11. Dark Apostle by Anthony Reynolds
12. Tales of Heresy edited by Kyme & Priestley
13. Honourkeeper by Nick Kyme
14. Behold the Man by Michael Moorcock
15. War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
16. Briget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding
17. Tempest by Troy Denning
18. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
19. Extraordinary Engines edited by Nick Gevers
20. Survivor’s Quest by Timothy Zahn (READING)
21. Brothers of the Snake by Dan Abnett (READING)
22. Descent of Angels by Mitchel Scanlon
23. Legion by Dan Abnett
24. The Traitor’s Hand by Sandy Mitchell (READING)
25. Gateway by Frederik Pohl (PILE)
26. Cities in Flight by James Blush (PILE)
27. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammet
28. Heroes of the Space Marines edited by Kyme & Lyndsey
29. The Forever War by Joe Haldemann
30. Mechanicum by Graham McNeil
31. Fallen Angels by Mike Lee
32. Salamander by Nick Kyme
33. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
34. The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith
35. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle (READING)
36. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle (PILE)
37. Rendezvous with Rama Arthur C. Clarke
38. Ravenor Returned by Dan Abnett
39. The Mysterious Affair at Style by Agatha Christie (READING)
40. Shadows over Baker Street edited by Reaves & Pelan (PILE)
41. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle (PILE)
42. Collected Poems by Philip Larkin (READING)
43. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler (READING)
44. In Search of Time: Journey Along a Curious Dimension by Dan Falk
45. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
46. The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin (READING)
47. The Ingenious Hidalgo Don Quixote of La Mancha by Cervantes (READING)
48. Space Hulk by Gav Thorpe
49. Savage City by Rob Earl
50. Rebel Winter by Steve Parker
51. Gunheads by Steve Parker
52. Empire by Graham McNeil (READING)
53. Cadian Blood by Aaron-Dembski-Bowden
54. Dead Sky, Black Sun by Graham McNeil
55. The Killing Ground by Graham McNeil
56. Courage & Honour by Graham McNeil
57. Rogue Trader by Fantasy Flight Games
58. Disciples of the Dark Gods by Fantasy Flight Games
59. Creatures Anathema by Fantasy Flight Games
60. The Inquisitor’s Handbook by Fantasy Flight Games
61. The Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (READING)
62. Professor Calculus by Michael Farr

DSBS is still posing problems for me, but I’m enjoying working through it. I’ve a bit of a love/hate with Graham’s books and style, but I can’t deny that I enjoy the tussle in reading them! I’ve been working through In Search of Time too. Very keen to get finished with it as it’ll permit me to get back to my academic reading.

For now, hopefully get DSBS and ISoT finished today; lots of tea to be drank. Might get doing a bit of online RPing later too, I’ve put up asking for opinions on the Flickering Lights in the Sky stuff, they like their RP things, so hopefully I’ll get a helpful response or two. Anyway: Off for a walk and, if I’m lucky, I might just blog later on about a ‘personal development’ plan I have in mind.

Basically: Get folks (and friends [and family]) on the Internet to set me various tasks. Could be reading, could be learning a new skill, poetry, running. It has to be cheap/free (i.e. resources online, emailable) and it has to be feasible (no ‘Build me a perpetual motion machine!’ nonsense). But the hope is to start putting up ~1000word reports on my progress with these amusing tasks. I’ll probably be canvassing Warseer, Sanity Lost, the Conclave, Facebook and this blog for sources of inspiration. In any case, it should be fun and help pass the time as well as being really productive!

Still, this is beside the point. I’m off for now. Cheerio!

EDIT: Finished In Search of Time this evening, hooray. Exceedingly enjoyable book, framed a lot of ideas I’d been familiar with in a very nice, very readable and very coherent way. Excellent fusion of physics, philosophy, psychology, neuroscience, linguistics and history!

EDIT 2: 26th 12 2009. Finished: Dead Sky, Black Sun, The Killing Ground, Courage and Honour, Extraordinary Engines, Rendezvous with Rama, Rogue Trader, Disciples of the Dark Gods, The Inquisitor’s Handbook, Creatures Anathema. Began reading The Christmas Carol and Empire.

by Fantasy Flight Games
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.