The Account of a Lifetime

January 23, 2009

Horsing Around

Filed under: A day in the life of...,Cogitations,Physics — xisor @ 4:25 pm

Well, it’s been a wee while! I’ll endeavour to keep more up to date on this.

Let me start with a story. Last night we were up very late. Nothing too exciting, just having had a laugh and a half in the union and Raisin. Mildly inebriated, everyone was in fine spirits. So, sitting in the Chattan Common room we we sat and chatted for ages. Just a handful of folks; honours years, a pair of first years, a few graduates and myself. Pretty decent banter, so to speak, until we started joking about the ‘closeness’ of one of the fourth years to one of the first years. Jokingly, I suggested “It’s alright, he’s hung like a horse”. Of course, I’ve no idea how the chap is hung, but still…it’s an amusing thing to suggest.

Now, as this guy was out of the room when the comment was made, it’d have been quite inappropriate to keep joking about it for hours afterwards. But, nevertheless, we did not relent and many horse puns were made. We cleared the stables of them. Saddled up. Rode them to safety. Won big at the races. Made an ass of ourselves. We realised we were hungry; I could eat a horse. They suggested just getting  a nose-bag, it’d be easier. Why the long face?

Yes, it was endless fun!

The look of the future

In the meantime, as it’s just been exam season, I’m busy applying for jobs. I’ve acquired a big pile of books and old notes which I need to revise and I’ve assembled some bits and pieces to begin planning for the next, the final, the tenth semester. As for now, it’s the inter-semester break and McIntosh is largely empty. Since my last post I’ve ingratiated myself with a cohort of folks in McIntosh, which has meant the time here itself is much more pleasant. More time is being spent in the common room and so there’s plenty of folks to chat with to distract my mind from physics.

With the exams just passed, I’m not sure I’ve done particularly well in them, but like those in the second semester of third year, I feel I’ve learned buckets in the preparation for them. Altogether, I’m quite comfortable with Quantum Field Theory, Group Theory and Quantum Mechanics now. Not absolutely so, but much more so than I was before Christmas. In light of this, I’ve become somewhat muddled in what I hope to do with myself in the future. I’ve sortof fallen in love with condensed matter physics now. I’m distanced somewhat from the cosmology and astrophysics which’d originally attracted me and I fear I’m sliding ever closer to the terrifying embrace of superconductors physics. But not to worry, I’ve faith it’ll be enjoyable anyway.

Certainly, the process of applying is sufficient itself to distill the brain’s desires. As mentioned, I’m distanced somewhat from the physics which originally attracted me, and moved towards that which repelled! It’s quite exhilirating, to be utterly frank.

Anyhow, back to applications and things for the immediate time being. More soon!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.